Maine Cities and Towns

Picture of the Maine State QuarterNew England’s largest state is home to 16 counties, 22 cities, 433 towns, and 34 plantations. In New England, a “plantation” is unique to Maine. It is a form of municipal self-government with less power than a city or town. In addition, Maine also has a significant unorganized territory consisting of over 400 unincorporated townships and many coastal islands.

As you might expect from a state that features “vacationland” on its license plate, many of these cities and towns are very popular tourist destinations, including:

  • The state capital Augusta
  • Bar Harbor, home to Acadia National Park, the only National Park in the Northeast United States
  • Bath, home to the Bath Iron Works shipyard
  • The seaside resort communities of Kennebunkport, Ogunquit, and Old Orchard Beach
  • The City of Eastport and and town of Lubec that are the easternmost city and town in the United States
  • Portland with its’ Old Port district, Arts District, and wonderful micro breweries, brew pubs, and restaurants

Listed below are the major cities and towns from a travel and tourism point of view:

Maine Hotels / Lodging

Use the search box below to find a hotel in Maine.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 6.0/10 (3 votes cast)
Maine Cities and Towns, 6.0 out of 10 based on 3 ratings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.