Connecticut Wineries

Picture of a Glass of Red and a Glass of White WineConnecticut’s oldest winery, Haight-Brown Vineyard in Litchfield, was established in 1975. Since then the Connecticut wine industry has grown to more than two dozen wineries. This is not surprising for the southernmost of the New England states with the moderating influence of the ocean along its south coast.

Connecticut is part of the Southeastern New England American Viticultural Area (AVA), which was established in 1984. This AVA also includes Rhode Island, and Massachusetts. Connecticut is also home to a second AVA, the Western Connecticut Highlands AVA, which was established in 1988.

There are four distinct growing areas in Connecticut:

  1. The coastal region
  2. The central region or Central Valley
  3. The Western Highlands which is its own appellation
  4. The Eastern Highlands

While some of the wineries make wine from fruit other than grapes, this southern New England state’s wineries make wine predominantly from grapes.

The Wineries of Connecticut

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.