At a Glance
- Established: 1875
- Current Lighthouse Built: 1875
- Light: Blinks red every five seconds
- Fog Signal: Two blasts every 30 seconds
- Height: 40 feet
- Focal Plane: 64 feet
- Maintained by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- Active U.S. Coast Guard aid to navigation
Egg Rock Lighthouse is located on a small island in Frenchman Bay about 4 miles from Bar Harbor. It was established in 1875 to help guide shipping entering into Frenchman Bay.
The lighthouse has a somewhat unique design in that the keeper’s house is integrated with the lighthouse tower. The brick lighthouse is literally in the center of the wooden keeper’s house.
The lighthouse is managed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service of the Maine Coastal Islands National Wildlife Refuge. The Lighthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The lighthouse is only accessible by boat.