At a Glance
- Established: 1857
- Current lighthouse built: 1857
- Height: 19 feet
- Light: Inactive
Winter Harbor Light was established in 1857 to protect ships from dangerous reefs at the entrance to Frenchman Bay across from Bar Harbor.
In addition to the lighthouse, there is a keeper’s house (1876), boathouse (1878), and oil house (1905) on the property.
The lighthouse was deactivated in 1933 when it was replaced by a lighted bell buoy. The lighthouse is currently privately owned. It is best viewed from the water but it can be seen in the distance from the loop road in Acadia National Park.