- Established: 1890
- Current Lighthouse Built: 1890
- Light: Blinks red every five seconds
- Height: 42 feet
- Focal Plane: 67 feet
- Maintained by the College of the Atlantic
- Active U.S. Coast Guard aid to navigation
The Great Duck Island Lighthouse was established in 1890 to help guide ships into into Bass Harbor and Southwest Harbor helping to prevent wrecks on the reefs of Long Island. The light was automated in 1986 and in 1998 it became the property of the Atlantic.
Other buildings with the lighthouse include: a keeper’s house (1890), a fog signal building (1890), a boathouse (1890), a storage building (1890), and an oil house (1901).
The lighthouse is best viewed by boat.