To protect the entrance to Burlington Harbor from winds from the south and the northwest a breakwater was built starting in the 1830s and subsequently extended over the years. To aid in navigation lighthouses were established at the north and south ends of the breakwater in 1857.
The lights were replaced several times over the years having been destroyed either by ice, fire, or wind. Both lights became automatic in 1938 and were later replaced by skeletal towers.
The skeletal towers were replaced by the current lighthouses in 2003.
The Burlington North Light is a 46 foot tall square pyramidal wood tower. The Burlington South Light is a 26 foot tall square pyramidal wood tower. The light in the Burlington North Lighthouse flashes white every 2.5 seconds. The light in the Burlington South Lighthouse flashes white every 4 seconds. There is a foghorn that also blasts for two seconds every fifteen seconds.
The Burlington North and South Lighthouses are owned by the City of Burlington and are not open for tours.
Picture credits: The picture of the Burlington North Light is by Rob Friesel and is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 2.0 Genericlicense.