The Martha’s Vineyard Museum presents the history and the culture of the Island of Martha’s Vineyard. The Museum, at the corner of Cooke and School Streets in Edgartown, consists of numerous buildings including the 18th Century Thomas Cooke House, 1854 Fresnel Lens, Research Library, Carriage Shed of vehicles and vessels, replica Tryworks, and the Pease House with 3 rotating exhibitions and Gift Shop. They have regular exhibitions and related events year-round.
Their collections consist of over 30,000 items including agricultural tools, archaeological material, paintings, prints, sculpture, baskets, coins, costumes, items brought back by Vineyard whalers, armament, guns and swords, and much more.
The Martha’s Vineyard Museum also manages three of the Island’s lighthouses – the East Chop Lighthouse, Edgartown Lighthouse and the Gay Head Lighthouse. Tours of all three lighthouses are provided in the summer time. On the grounds of the museum is also the first order Fresnel lens that was used in the Gay Head Lighthouse from 1854 to 1951.
Hours of Operation
Located just two blocks south of Main St. in historic Edgartown at 59 School Street, the Museum is open year round, Monday-Saturday 10am-4pm. Admission is $7 for adults, $6 for seniors, $4 for children ages 6-15, and free for children under 6.
Address / Contact Information
Martha’s Vineyard Museum
59 School Street
PO Box 1310
Edgartown MA 02539
Public transportation is less than a five-minute walk. Parking is available in a small lot off School St.
Picture credits: All pictures are courtesy of the Martha’s Vineyard Museum.