West Quoddy Head is located at the easternmost point in the contiguous United States in Quoddy Head State Park, Lubec, Maine. The first American lighthouse built east of Penobscot Bay in 1806, the light guides mariners between Quoddy Head and Campobello Island on the Bay of Fundy.
The station received one of the nation’s first fog bells in 1820. In all, four different bells and a steel bar were installed in an effort to find a sound that could be heard clearly from the water. A Daboll trumpet fog whistle was finally installed in 1869. Its blast was similar to that of a steam locomotive.
The 49-foot brick tower standing today was constructed in 1857 along with a Victorian keeper’s house. The distinctive tower is painted with red and white bands. The only other tower in the United States with horizontal red and white stripes is Assateague Light in Virginia.
The lighthouse features a third-order Fresnel lens that flashes in an unusual sequence: 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off, 2 seconds on, 9 seconds off. The fog signal blasts every 30 seconds. The station was automated in 1988.
In addition to the tower, the keeper’s house, 1887 fog signal building and 1892 oil house still stand on the property. The grounds are part of Quoddy Head State Park and are open to the public. Whales can occasionally be seen from the trails that wind along the shore, and bald eagles nest in the area.
While the tower is not open to the public, the West Quoddy Head Light Keepers Association runs a seasonal visitor center with exhibits and displays in the former keeper’s house.