Conanicut Island Lighthouse is located close to Jamestown, Rhode Island on the north end of nine-mile long Conanicut Island, which divides Narragansett Bay into its East and West passages. The light was built in 1886 and used as a beacon for sea traffic heading south towards Newport or the Atlantic Ocean.
The two-story, wood-frame Gothic Revival keeper’s house was originally painted white. The house has since been painted red, which contrasts with its white gingerbread trim and scrollwork. The attached square tower at the northeast corner of the home held a fifth-order Fresnel lens. A barn was built in 1897 followed by a brick oil house and storage buildings in 1901, and a 1907 fog signal building. All remain at the site.
The lighthouse was deactivated in 1933, and the lantern and lens were removed in favor of a 40-foot skeleton tower with a fixed red light that remained in service until the 1980s.
Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the station is best viewed from the water. The lighthouse is a private residence and is closed to the public.