Edgartown Lighthouse, sometimes referred to as Edgartown Harbor Lighthouse, sits on a sandy beach at the entrance to Edgartown Harbor across from the Island of Chappaquiddick Chappaquiddick on the Island of Martha’s Vineyard.
The Edgartown Lighthouse was established in 1828. The original lighthouse was destroyed by the 1938 hurricane. The lighthouse that currently sits at the opening to Edgartown Harbor is a lighthouse from Cranes Beach in Ipswich. It was built in 1881 and moved to Edgartown in 1939.
Edgartown Lighthouse is a 45 foot tall round cast iron tower with a black lantern and gallery. There are no other buildings on the site.
Edgartown Harbor Lighthouse is an active aid to navigation and is owned by the Coast Guard. The Martha’s Vineyard Museum maintains the lighthouse and offers tours during the summer. Edgartown light has a red flash every six seconds.
Edgartown Lighthouse is a short, sandy walk from North Water Street where it sits on the beach across from the Harbor View Hotel at 121 North Water Street, Edgartown. In-season, the Martha’s Vineyard Museum opens the lighthouse is for tours.
The Edgartown Lighthouse also stands sentinel over the Children’s Memorial memorializing children who have died. Families can have their child’s name carved into a granite cobblestone and placed permanently into the foundation of the lighthouse. The blocks are laid parallel to the shoreline in a pattern echoing the rhythm of the waves, marked by compass points. It is the Martha’s Vineyard Museum’s hope that the child’s name will be seen in the context of eternity. The Edgartown Light illuminates the darkness and the children in the Memorial every night and is rededicated every year in September in the Ceremony of Remembrance.
Video of Edgartown Lighthouse
Picture credits: The pictures in this article were provided by the Martha’s Vineyard Museum.